BGF investment for building plastics supplier

Dow Schofield Watts has provided Corporate Finance advice to Northern Building Plastics on its investment from BGF to support its growth plans.


Northern Building Plastics, led by co-founders, Judah Wilson and Richard Lindop, opened its first super depot in Leeds in 2010, followed by a second site in Bolton in May 2018 on the back of strong growth and a proven model.

Following the investment, John Browett will join the business as non-executive chair. He brings leadership experience from high profile chief executive and board roles at Dixons, Dunelm Group, and Apple.

Northern Building Plastics co-founder Judah Wilson said: “BGF’s backing will accelerate the growth of the business through expansion of our service and delivery capability and extension of our product range. We have built a good relationship with the BGF team who understand our long-term ambitions and have track record of successful investments in our sector.

“We’re also delighted to be announcing the appointment of such a high calibre non-executive chair in John. His experience will add significant expertise to our business in this next phase of growth.”

Paul Herriott, at Dow Schofield Watts, said: “Northern Building Plastics’ differentiated business model and the ambition of its management team have made this a compelling equity investment proposition. BGF has proved to be the best partner to support this next phase of growth and we are delighted to have advised on sourcing and structuring the investment in the business.”

Jackson added: “With an experienced and entrepreneurial management team, this is a business that understands its market and is capable of significant scale. Northern Building Plastics is trusted by its customers because of its quality products and the fact its super depots allow the business to provide much greater stock availability and a next-day delivery service across the UK.”

The Dow Schofield Watts Corporate Finance team that advised Northern Building Plastics included Paul Herriott, Roger Esler, Mathew Spence and Jonathan Wilkinson.