The first eight shortlists have been unveiled for the Insider Dealmakers Awards 2012. Manchester Central will be hosting this year’s prestigious event on 15 November which will recognise the cream of the region’s dealmakers across 13 categories.

A total of 13 awards will be handed out on the night, culminating with the accolade for the Dealmaker of the Year.

Insider editor Chris Maguire, who chaired the judging process, said: “Despite the economy, the quality of the entries for this year’s award was excellent.

The judging panel was made up of the 2011 Dealmaker of the Year Barry Nightingale, finance director of Betfred; Mark Mills, founder and ex-chief executive of Cardpoint; Paresh Majithia, finance director, Timpsons; Professor Elaine Ferneley, MBA director at Manchester Business School; David Byrne, managing director, ASC Renewables; Neil Smith, managing director, Kinetic plc and a vice-president of Greater Manchester Chamber of Commerce.

DSW Nominations

Corporate Finance Advisory Team of the Year
Sponsored by UBS
Dow Schofield Watts

Deal of the Year (sub-£5m)
Sponsored by OBI
John Wainwright & Co (Philip Price & James Dow – Dow Schofield Watts)

Technology Deal of the Year
Sponsored by MC2
Capscan acquisition by GB Group (Philip Price – Dow Schofield Watts)